Moorings North

Testimonials

HomeAway Property

Fabulous property

We were surprised and disappointed to arrive and find that this is a duplex property, and not a stand alone. Everything else, however, was absolutely delightful. We are two families, with two children per family (ages 10, 10, 9 and 5). The rooms were lovely, and the common space allowed for relaxed time together, with unbeatable views of the water and water fowl. The kitchen was very well stocked. We would absolutely return to this same property upon a repeat visit to Chincoteague Island.

Pamela from Virginia, April 2017

Perfect backdrop for an amazing family reunion

My family was getting together for the first time in many years and wanted to do something special, Moorings North provided that and more then I could have dreamed of. The view was spectacular, and the house well appointed and beautiful. There was plenty of room for 8 adults and a toddler, and the kitchen had just about everything you could possibly want. The hosts were very thoughtful and responsive, several times leading up to the visit I emailed questions and they always responded promptly with all the information and more! They even had fantastic suggestions for seafood spots so we could have a crab meal at the house one night. So much about the house was special, they have a telescope that absolutly enthralled several members of the family and bikes for others!! Great experience from booking on through!!!

Joy from Maryland, April 2017

Fabulous winter retreat

Well equipped kitchen, great gas fireplace, beautiful views. A wonderful place to spend Christmas with family.

Karen from Virginia, Christmas 2016

Terrific place with tremendous hosts

We booked this house over New Year's Eve and it was exactly as hoped/advertised. The house layout maximizes its fantastic views. Inside, it is well appointed with respect to furniture, kitchen, electronics, you name it! Not to mention that we walked in the door to a gift basket tailored directly to the children on our trip (by name). You couldn't ask for more friendly, thoughtful and accommodating hosts. We enjoyed the house so much that we have already started planning our return next year.

Ed and family from Delaware, New Year's Eve 2016

Perfect family Thanksgiving

Moorings North was PERFECT for our Thanksgiving week family reunion. The bedroom suites with their own bathrooms allowed the four families to each have their own private areas while the expansive kitchen-dining-living area was large enough for visiting and meals. We’ve always been to Chincoteague in the summer but Moorings North was great in the fall, especially the fire pit overlooking the channel on the chilly nights. Looking forward to a return. Five stars.

Jeff and Susan from Pennsylvania, Thanksgiving 2016

Beautiful home with great amenities!

I stayed during Veteran's Day weekend with a group of friends for our annual trip. The house did not disappoint. The house was very welcoming, comfortable, spacious, clean, and had everything we needed. From the comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, AMAZING views, outdoor patio, fire pit, bicycles, and iPad, we had everything we needed for a comfortable weekend. And the elevator was a huge help for bringing in all the bags. The location to the shops was perfect, and not too far to walk or ride the bikes. I would definitely stay at Moorings North again in the future.

Maria from Maryland, November 2016

Excellent!

Wow, this house was absolutely amazing! We stayed here for a family trip recently, the adults and the kids loved the amazing view and being able to fish off the dock. It's very close to everything (being on a small island). And they were so nice as to leave a little care package for the kids on the day of arrival, which was such a sweet unexpected surprise! And of course the house itself! Each bedroom has its own bathroom (besides the attic), which was so convenient for each set of adults, and the kids loved having the attic as a little hideaway. The place was absolutely fantastic. Claudia was just lovely to work with in preparing for the trip, and just so helpful and thoughtful throughout. Thank you for a great stay!

Jennifer from New York, September 2016

This place tops them all

Spectacular setting, spectacular house. Well equipped home with open great room, spacious bedrooms each with bath, and stylish architecture. Living area looks out over the bay, where you get gorgeous sunsets. Claudia Grill has equipped the home with everything you need. We entertained 18 easily for our family reunion, even with scorching hot weather limiting outdoor use. Bikes, beach equipment, boat mooring,cable, Apple and Amazon tv, fully stocked kitchen. Our best rental ever. Claudia is available to help with whatever is needed

Stephen from New York, August 2016

Once Again - Fantastic Week!

We are repeat visitors to this wonderful house and truly can't say enough positive things about it. This is our 4th time staying and our second time with these particular owners. Nothing overlooked on their part and the process of booking etc is seamless. So many nice touches as in the past and this year the addition of an outdoor shower and fire pit as well as new landscaping and separate area for bikes and beach chairs. We are already looking forward to 2017. Thank you so much for making our family get together a special one.

Amy from Pennsylvania, July 2016

Moorings North is the perfect vacation destination!

My husband and twin sons (age 25) enjoyed a week (6/26/16 - 7/3/16) at Moorings North located in Chincoteague, Virginia. I have been visiting the island for over 35 years. We have stayed at a variety of places over the years and have always enjoyed our visit, but, this vacation was just exceptional......in large measure due to our choice of venue. Moorings North is, without question, the most beautiful home we have ever rented. Claudia and Claus Grill have gone above and beyond to ensure their guests are absolutely comfortable and have no reason to run to the store for anything, unless you like to cook, of course. And cook, we did. The kitchen is so well equipped. There wasn't one utensil or device I missed from home. We loved dining inside on rainy nights and on more pleasant evenings, outside on the deck that adjoins the living areas. The home is decorated in perfect taste and just, immaculate. I could go on and on but suffice it to say, my family and I recommend Moorings North to anyone expecting everything only the best.

Diane from New Jersey, July 2016

An absolutely fabulous place to enjoy a vacation with your family on Chincoteague Island

Of all the rental properties we've stayed at over the last 30 years, this is by far the most exquisite. The layout of the home and the attention to detail inside and out was far and above what we had expected. Everything from the user friendly kitchen, to the bar area, to the outside dock and fire pit, as well as the comfortable beds and outside dining and seating area were absolutely beautiful. The family is already requesting we rent this place again next year. A big 'Thank You' to Claudia and Claus.

Eric from Pennsylvania, June 2016

Stay Was Better Than Excellent

Probably one of the best places we have ever stayed. We are all seasoned vacationers and the place met all our needs. There was nothing we needed because everything was provided. The pictures are exactly how the place looks. It was easy to book, all correspondence was timely. Plan on returning with same group (family) next year. Thank you, Claudia. Did I mention has the best restaurants and ice cream. LOL!

Theresa from Maryland, May 2016

Paradise Found

Moorings North is a haven to all! Nestled on Chincoteague Bay, its vast third-floor windows provide an ever-changing view of nature that soothes the soul , just what we needed after a stressful winter. The Grill's beautiful home also soothes the body with exceptional furnishings, abundant suites and bedrooms, and great places to relax, including a third-floor gazebo and water-side patio, complete with hammock! If you are lucky enough to be able to rent here, you will be greeted and pampered by your thoughtful hosts and their magnificent home. I hope we can return -- and soon!

Ann from Maryland, May 2016

Gorgeous, spacious rental

I rented this home for a weekend with a group of girlfriends, and it was a fantastic experience. The home is beautiful and well kept, and the views from the balcony and living room/kitchen area are as awesome as they look in the photos! Even though I reviewed the listing before we left, when we first got there, I kept surprising myself by finding more and more bedrooms - sleeping space is very ample. We had everything we needed available to us, and a lot was in walking distance from the house, too. Claudia and Claus were extremely kind and helpful at every turn as well, and provided clear info and instructions for everything. I highly recommend Moorings North - a step above the common rental experience!

Marissa from VA, April 2016

Thank you!

We had a wonderful stay at your beautiful home. We were a multi generation here for the first time to celebrate Easter weekend. The house is lovely and the special touches made us all feel very welcome. The view is perfect and we found many places to hide our Easter eggs. Due to the weather, it had to be done inside, so you may be finding eggs hidden in strange places. Maybe you will get lucky and find a "golden" one with $$$ in it!
We have our VT home listed on VRBO, if you are ever looking for a vacation north we would be happy to have you as guests.

Gina from Connecticut, March 2016

Perfect

We are a group of 9-10 ladies that has been taking an annual trip together for 6 years. We have stayed in several places. Moorings North has gone to the top of our list. The house is beautiful and the view is amazing. The close proximity to the lovely town of Chincoteague was a bonus. It was an easy walk into town and the ice cream shop! The best ice cream sold right in Chincoteague. Our group cooks together and the kitchen was well equipped. The owner was a pleasure to work with and helped make our annual trip a great success. Thank you Claudia and Claus for having such a wonderful rental property.

Gay from Maryland, March 2016

The perfect vacation spot!

We spent Christmas in this amazing house! From the moment we walked through the door we loved it! The personal touches added by Claudia and her family were much appreciated! Especially the Christmas decorations! I didn't know what we were going to do about a tree but when we arrived there was a tree already set up! The house is well stocked and has everything anyone would need during a vacation stay...the views from the gazebo are lovely and a great place to relax at any hour of the day. Having Assateague close by was a plus for us since my family loves to hike, bird watch and take photographs. In addition to that the grocery store, restaurants and down town are also close by. This was a perfect vacation for us when we really needed it. I thank Claudia and her family for providing us with such a beautiful home for our Christmas vacation. Don't think twice about renting this house!! You will absolutely LOVE it! We hope to return soon.

From Owner:
Dear Laura, congratulations on being a winner of this year's Chincoteague Cultural Assossiation photo contest. Chincoteague has such a wonderful wildlife to offer. You have captured it with your impressive photos! Contragulations!

squirrel birds
Delmarva Fox Squirrel Flock of Red Wing Blackbirds
Laura from Virginia, Christmas 2015

Thanksgiving on Chincoteague

I was impressed with this rental from day 1. Claudia responded to all my questions quickly and set the tone for our stay before I even booked our reservation. The house is a world of opposites but in a great way - comfy yet gorgeous, stately yet homey. We had everything we could have possibly needed and more. The elevator was a huge benefit, especially when making multiple trips to the car to unload upon arriving. Thank you Claudia and Claus - your hospitality was above and beyond!

Laura from Pennsylvania, November 2015

Perfect House for a Relaxing Weekend

Prior to our stay, I corresponded with Claudia and she was always quick to respond. Check-in instructions were clear and well organized. The house itself is beautiful, with an amazing view and good layout for large groups. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking. The hosts left personal touches which were very much appreciated. My daughter loved looking through the telescope!

Grace from Washington, DC, October 2015

Moorings North

By far the most beautiful home we have rented for a family vacation. The home is not only well stocked with every imaginable need, it is well thought out with a lot of attention to details ..... like a small folding step stool so the shorter members of our family could enjoy spotting the myriad of wildlife and birds through the telescope! We had a group of friends and family and everyone was more then comfortable in the bedrooms, each with their own bath and .... view! The elevator made it comfortable for the elders so they did not need to navigate the steps. With warmer then usual weather for late October, we were able to enjoy the warm morning sun and sunsets from the covered porch. All and all a magical stay!!

Kelly from Pennsylvania, October 2015

Moorings North

Upon first opening the door to the home, we were fascinated. The online pictures did not do it justice! It is probably the most beautiful place we've stayed yet. The amenities provided were excellent and went above and beyond any place else we've stayed. The only thing we struggled with a bit was the stairs and the baby but created our own gate. My family truly enjoyed the stay and the grandkids wanted to stay forever! Thank you.

Anita and family from New York, September 2015

Fabulous Vacation in Moorings North

Our family (which included my husband and I and our daughter and her family) thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in Moorings North. Upon our arrival, there was a welcome basket which included yummy treats for our grandkids. This was a very special touch! I also received a beautiful bouquet of flowers in celebration of my birthday (which was the reason for the special vacation)! This was so thoughtful and appreciated! The house was absolutely beautiful! The accommodations were perfect for our family. The location is close to the center of town. The sunsets each night were extraordinary! We rode the cruiser bikes to Assateague Island one day with two of our grandkids. We also rode around town on the cruiser bikes. We enjoyed the fresh fish from Howard's Seafood! We explored the lighthouse, and spent some time on the beach on Assateague Island. We enjoyed delicious dinners in the gazebo each night! This was definitely an awesome family vacation! We look forward to staying in this beautiful home again in the very near future! Thank you, Claudia and Claus!

Martha and family from Oregon, September 2015

Fantastic House and Location

We had a fabulous time at Moorings North. We stayed here 2 years ago and the new owners have added in even more amenities to make our stay most relaxing and enjoyable. Couldn't ask for a more lovely home. Everyone's favorite spot is the view from the gazebo deck - many meals and relaxation occurred there! The location is perfect - easy to get into town - bike or walk. Whole process of renting was seamless from start to finish - owners are wonderful. We will be back next year!

a guest from Pennsylvania, August 2015

Wondeful Family Week

We were so happy with our family vacation at Moorings North. This house accommodated our four generations aging from 2 to 87. We biked, boated, fished, clammed, crabbed, kayaked, and enjoyed the beach. Every evening, we gathered for family dinner and watched the spectacular sunsets on the bay. The new owners have made this home warm and welcoming. We'll be back!

Kay and family from Pennsylvania, July 2015

A Place to Make Memories

This was our third time renting this home and once again, we had a wonderful time. The house was spacious enough to accommodate our extended family, providing wonderful memories of fishing off the pier, playing games together, watching movies, reading and relaxing. While there is plenty of space for family activities there is also enough space for "alone time". I felt like we wanted for nothing - it was all there - everything we needed and more! One of the things I like the most are the beautiful sunsets over the bay, easy to see and enjoy from the wall of windows inside or the gazebo outside. Your home is a special place and we appreciated the opportunity to enjoy it again - together!

Gina and family from Pennsylvania, July 2015

Best Family Trip

We had an absolutely wonderful time in Chincoteague, due in no small part to this gorgeous home. We had a range of ages (8 years to 81) and everyone loved it and was very comfortable. Breakfast on the beautiful 3rd story patio, amazing sunsets, and being so close to downtown was perfect. The street was quiet enough that the kids could safely bike for ice cream, and it was very easy for us to walk to town. Riding bikes in the early morning to Assateague to see the wildlife was incredible. The home was absolutely spotless, beautifully decorated, and every detail was thought of. I have already recommended it to my friends, and I will definitely be back to stay here. Thank you for a truly wonderful, memorable stay with my family.

Sandy and family from Illinois, June 2015

Fabulous stay!!

We have stayed in many beach houses over the years and this was by far my favorite. You don't even have to leave the house to have a good time! We enjoyed the ever-changing views inside and out between watching the boats sail by, the sunsets, and the shore birds. There was always a pleasant breeze on the covered upper deck, conveniently located just off the main living space. I also loved that the house comes with sheets and towels, bikes, beach umbrellas (and an elevator to haul suitcases and groceries). A good time in this house is effortless--just as a vacation should be.

PPT from Maryland, June 2015

What a Great Stay!

This house made our weekend absolutely perfect. My sisters and our friends got together here for a beach weekend, and we never wanted to leave. The house was very large, the rooms had beautiful views and we spent so much time on the wonderful large deck overlooking the canal. We cooked, adventured, used all the bar tools to make delicious cocktails and we couldn't have been cozier in that house. Thanks for everything!

Eliza from Virginia, June 2015

Awesome experience!

We loved it! One of the best vacations we ever had! Chincoteague Island, Virginia is truly wonderful and staying at Moorings North was an exceptional experience. A gem on the East Coast, destination Moorings North welcomes you with a view of the Bay that is nothing less than captivating. Family Grill truly makes you feel at home during your stay. And if you can manage to part from that view for a moment, if your looking for a bit of adventure, we highly recommend one of our favorite excursions, The Bay Cruise Boat Tour by Captain Barry. Be sure to stop by the the beach and round out the day with a trip to the Island Creamery. We are looking forward to the next time we are in town!

GM from Pennsylvania, June 2015

Everything and more

We stayed there with a large group of family for our first time on the island. There were 10 of us in total and it was plenty of room. There was all the comforts of home and then some. The beautiful views were amazing and it was within walking distance of everything. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Chrysta from Delaware, May 2015

Fabulous vacation home

This home was absolutely perfect for a family reunion including 3 octogenarians. Elevator was a plus, and everyone enjoyed the numerous balconies, and the swing overlooking the canal. I can't think of one thing I would change about this vacation home, which suited all ages. Last morning in the house we witnessed a pod of 10-12 dolphins including a couple babies swimming in the canal by the house. This was a perfect ending to a perfect vacation!

Melissa and family from Delaware and Germany, May 2015

Excellent vacation spot

This home was even more beautiful in person! They had everything you could possibly need in the house which made it feel right at home. The customer service was wonderful. Email and inquiries were answered quickly, there was an adorable little welcome basket at the house, and there were very helpful signs placed around the home to figured out switches and such. The views were fantastic and the location couldn't be beat. We will definitely be making staying here a tradition.

Brittni from Virginia, May 2015

Dream Home Away From Home

View is spectacular! Owner's communications were warm, prompt and concise. Endless examples of the owners' thoughtfulness: ipad provided and already equipped with Pandora(!), warm welcome basket of treats and gift card to revered Island Creamery(!), nicely labeled light switches and tiny unobtrusive wall signs offering helpful hints about various features of the house. Appreciated the gas fireplace, spotting scope, boogey boards, beach chairs, bicycles, binoculars, TWO coffee makers, TWO ovens and TWO HVAC thermostats. The elevator made luggage in and trash out: quick and easy, and left more time for fun! We could not have been the only guests to feel like this home's design, layout and furnishings were straight out of our dreams. Nor were we the first to fantasize about staying here forever - or at least returning next season!

Laura and friends from Virginia, April 2015

Outstanding Venue, Outstanding Visit

Moorings North is just a beautiful house in a beautiful location. Everything was just perfect with our visit including the cleanliness, and layout of the home. The Owners have really thought of everything in this spectacular place. The kitchen had everything we needed in it, the bedrooms were wonderfully outfitted and the layout of the home allowed all 5 women in our party to both have privacy when we wanted it, and plenty of space to visit all together. The decks allow beautiful views of the sunsets and water, the bikes are so convenient to get some exercise and see the islands as well. The Owners are so kind and attentive, answering all of our questions right away. I can't say enough about how terrific this place is. I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a wonderful family vacation.

Julie from Colorado, April 2015

Another incredible stay at Moorings North

This was my second stay at this great house. I have traveled here twice with colleagues while working at the local NASA center. First and foremost, the hosts are extremely accommodating, very pleasant, and very easy to communicate with. They are attentive and providing. Second, the house is incredible from the view to the stocked kitchen to the great living space. The bedrooms are comfortable and make you feel at home. The little extras are great too like taking the bikes out to the beach. I can't say enough about the house and the hosts; truly a wonderful experience.

Randy from Iowa, March 2015

Tranquil, Beautiful, Luxurious and Comfortable

This was our third stay a Moorings North and it is consistantly the best place for the money on the Island. Convenient to everything, yet quiet and tranquil, it even has a dock so you can bring your boat and avoid annoying trips to the boat ramp. The owners are kind, flexible (we came a day early and checked out late), and treat you like friends. Moorings North is a twice-yearly tradition for us now.

Tony from Virginia, January 2015

Beautiful home! Beautiful view!

What a wonderful week our family had at Moorings North! We loved everything about this home - the architecture, furnishings, location and spectacular view. The owners take great care to make sure everything is just right, even including a generous gift basket and lovely holiday decorations. We hope to stay at Moorings North again, and wholeheartedly recommend it to other Chincoteague visitors!

Happy Holiday Visitors from Virginia, Christmas 2014

Fabulous Weekend in Chincoteague

Recently, our families, 3 generations, gather in Chincoteague for a fabulous weekend of food, fun and family time. We were drawn to Chincoteague for the oyster festival, but came away with many happy memories. The house we rented was a spacious home that accommodate our large group. We shared many meals around the dining room table and on the beautiful attached porch. We spent many hours admiring the amazing wildlife and ocean views right outside our doors.

Shaffer Family from Maryland, October 2014

A Fantastic Birthday Celebration!

Wow!!! I am not sure what to say about a PERFECT weekend with friends that was made even better by WONDERFUL hosts except that we will try to make an annual visit to this BEAUTIFUL place. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you to the Host Family and to Awesome Friends! We are so lucky we found each other through VRBO. :)

Sherry from Maryland, October 2014

Celebrating our friend's 50th birthday!

What an amazing stay we had at your house! Nine of us spent three days there celebrating our friend's 50th birthday! Everything about the house was pure pleasure- from the gorgeous views (with the huge jellyfish floating by!) to the beautiful interior layout. Everything was in mint condition and the personal touches everywhere were delightful. I learned some interesting facts about downtown Chincoteague from the fantastic informative book laid out on the bedroom side table (Misty's hoofprints are in concrete in front of the cinema!).
The location of the house was so convenient for everything from taking a stroll downtown to going on a fun-filled, gorgeous bike ride to Assateague beach. (Thanks for all the bikes you have there for your guests!)
We loved sitting out on the back porch that looks out over the water. The beautiful birds, jellyfish, ducks, and stupendous sunsets all displayed there in our laps was heavenly.
I can't say enough about this spacious, amenity-loaded house!!!! Wonderful, wonderful existence there! We all agreed to make this an annual event at your house!

Carla from Maryland, October 2014

Great House for a Group

I was part of a group of 10 women who stayed in this house for a long weekend as a 50th birthday celebration. We loved the house! Incredible views, cozily furnished and well appointed. The kitchen and other common areas were perfect for our needs. We especially loved hanging out on the 2nd floor deck. The bedrooms and bathrooms are nicely situated to allow for privacy and are comfortable, and the bathrooms are quite spacious and inviting. The owner went out of her way to help our friend celebrate her birthday - the welcome basket and the flowers sent during our stay were lovely and very much appreciated. All in all a wonderful place for a relaxing get-away. Would love to come back and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful place to stay on Chincoteague Island. The house is walking distance from the main street shopping area which is an additional bonus. And the sunsets were truly fabulous!

Kathy from Maryland, October 2014

Absolutely beautiful house, Amazing hosts

I can honestly say this was the best experience I have ever had with a host. Claudia and Claus were incredible. Their attention to detail is amazing, the house was everything they said it would be and more. The best part was the little touches. From the welcome basket, to the little labels they put on everything to help you find things, it was clear that they spent a lot of time working on making people's stay as enjoyable as possible. If you ever find yourself in Chincoteague you'd be stupid not to consider this house.

Addy from Virginia, September 2014

Gorgeous home, comfortable stay

We had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay at this comfortable and beautiful home. We were a group of 10 and found the right balance between privacy and interaction here. The kitchen is well-equipped; the house has a great design (and even an elevator). The home is tastefully decorated and shows the owners' attention to detail and care. We will be back!

Uta from Maryland, September 2014

Best Vacation House on the Island!!

I have been vacationing in Chincoteague with my family for the past 31 years staying at mobile homes, cabins, hotels and other rental homes but Moorings North is by far the best place we have stayed at. The house is spacious, beautiful, and well-appointed. The views are breath-taking anytime of the day but especially at sunset. To top it all off, Claus and Claudia were excellent to deal with. All the personal touches from their emails to the welcome and thank you cards to the gift basket and to many more small gestures all added up to a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Best Vacation House on the Island: Moorings North! We all loved it and am hoping to be able to book another stay next year but the reservations go fast.

Flordeliz from New Jersey, August 2014

Ideal for Nature Lovers

The house is beautiful, well appointed and ideally located. The wall of windows in the great room faces the bay which is a combination of open water and marshes. One morning we saw a pod of ~20 dolphins swim right past the house (within 50-100 ft). Another day we saw two bald eagles. There was almost always a variety of herons and egrets in sight. On clear nights the sunsets were spectacular. We enjoyed the house as much as we enjoyed the beach.
Claudia and Claus are also attentive hosts. My wife has problems with allergies and Claudia arranged for the linens to be washed in an unscented detergent before we arrived.

Cathy and Tom from Ohio, August 2014

Wonderful Home for Large Family Vacation

Our family of 6 adults and 4 children, 3 generations, loved our stay at Moorings North. Very convenient for activities at Assateague. Some days were spent at the beach. Participated in a number of activities organized through the NPS especially for children including a 2 hour bus trip into the northern area of Assateague where the ponies run free.
The house provided plenty of room to spread out. Most of our meals were at the outdoor gazebo where everyone enjoyed watching the boats passing by, the birds across the way and of course the jellyfish below. The 8 and 10 year old loved their private space in the tower.
Having bikes available was great for rides with the kids. Having all the linens provided made things so much easier. Claudia was very helpful before we went in in answering questions we had.

Jerry from Virginia, August 2014

The Perfect Family Vacation

SunsetMikeOur family has been vacationing in Chincoteague every summer for the past few summers, but it was only this year at Moorings North that we finally found "our" spot. We fell in love with the house from the moment we walked in. Our daughter (10) was more than excited to check out every level, every nook and cranny, and especially excited about the elevator. The views from the family room took our breaths away. My husband's passion is fishing, and this house was in the perfect location. He tied his John boat up out behind the house and went out every morning and most evenings. We could have lived off the flounder he caught! This will sound silly but one thing I loved was for once being the adults that "hosted" the vacation - that meant we got one of the master suits. I only wish I'd had time to soak in the tub. The bathroom was beautiful - spacious and tiled. Our friends who came with us were just as awed with the place as we were. We spent evenings grilling on the deck, watching the sunset over the water. We took bike rides through town or to the grocery store, and we put together a 750-piece puzzle of the NY skyline with a view of the water before us! It was great being close to Main Street but far enough away from the noise. With the beach only a short ride away...we were in heaven. What made this experience even better was the owner. Claudia was so helpful and pleasant, responsive and kind. We emailed her to let her know one of the stove top burners wasn't getting fully hot, and her response was fast and gracious. We've already reserved our week here next year!

April and Mike from Virginia, July 2014

Chincoteague's Best Family Vacation House

Our family had a marvelous time at Moorings North. We have been to Chincoteague several times before but this was our first time in Claudia and Claus's lovely home. It was so beautiful! Everything you need is provided for -- They have really thought of everything. The home was clean and cool when we arrived. The gourmet kitchen was very comfortable for preparing family meals with plentiful supply of dishes, glasses, silverware and cookware. We used the gas grill on the big outdoor deck for several dinners and really enjoyed the balconies all around. Nice linens were provided for all the beds and bathrooms. Lots of extras like board games, an Ipad, boogie boards for the beach, etc, etc. Our favorite was the bikes. They are really nice cruisers and we used them alot. They even had tools hanging right with the bikes so you can adjust if the seat is too high, etc. The house is only a short walk or ride straight down main street to all the cute little shops in the center of town so we went to the coffee shop, the ice cream shops and browsed all the little art shops -- great fun. The views are so beautiful from every window, especially from the living room -- simply breathtaking! Everyone took so many pictures that we will need a while to compile them all! The house is really perfect for all ages too. Our group was 1 toddler, 1 teenager, 2 young parents, 3 in our 40-50's and 3 Seniors 65+ and everyone had just what they wanted. The elevator is great -- very convenient but safely set up so no risk for our little one. My teen daughter loved her "tree house" (the loft bedroom with the spiral staircase). All the other bedrooms are suites with beautiful attached bathrooms and comfortable beds. This lovely home was the perfect retreat with privacy for everyone and space to enjoy being together after each day of fun. We went sightseeing, boating, to NASA, to the beach, on a photo cruise to see the ponies, fishing, etc. and loved having this delightful home to rest in after each days adventures. Really I can go on and on but you just need to go and enjoy this amazing home for yourself. You will not be sorry! We can't wait to go back. Thank you Claus and Claudia for being such welcoming and attentive hosts and sharing your lovely home on Chincoteague Island.

Chellie from Texas, July 2014

Gorgeous home in spectacular location!

poniesOur youngest guest with her friendsunsetosprey

Moorings North is a gorgeous home worthy of any of America's prestigious beach towns. The gourmet kitchen opens onto an expansive family room with 180-degree views of the water. We loved the canal we were on, as we were able to watch the animals and be endlessly entertained by the insanely swift currents that passed by. All the bedrooms were beautifully maintained and furnished. The four main bedrooms all have bathrooms attached. The tower bedroom that sleeps three is really best for kids - it was loud when people were in the living space, and you had to go down a floor to use the bathroom. But it was absolutely adorable. All the rooms have lovely water views - exactly what you want out of a vacation home! The amenities were fantastic: well stocked kitchen cabinets, awesome beach cruiser bikes, towels and linens for each person, games, dvds, great bar, two grills, a crab trap, beach chairs & umbrella... I really could go on!!! Also, my mother-in-law has MS and trouble navigating stairs. The elevator was such a blessing!!! Claudia & Claus (owners) were superb to work with. Great and prompt communication, and they even provided a list of recommended activities on the island. When we had trouble locking one of the doors, a text message resulted in a quick reply clarifying how to do it. Visit Moorings North! You won't regret it. Just don't book the whole summer - we are dying to return!!! ;)

Jessica from Maryland, May 2014

Best House on the Island!

Without question, this is by far one of the most amazing vacation homes I've ever stayed in. Our group was nine people, ages ranging from 30 to 40 years old, couples and singles. We came from D.C., enjoy outdoor activities, the beach, relaxing, fishing, and having a great time. This was simply the perfect house to get away from the D.C. chaos. The house is superbly clean, new facilities, modern appliances, and a spectacular view of the sunset from the living room. The house came with four bicycles and since we also brought our own bikes, there was enough for the entire group to bike to the beach and ride trails each day. There are shops on the island to rent bikes, scooters, carts, kayaks, boats, jet ski's, etc. The kitchen came stocked with plenty of cooking utensils, dinnerware, condiments, and grilling utensils. There are two grills, propane and charcoal. I could go on and on about the house, but believe me, it's a high-end luxury rental property. To add to the weekend treat, the neighbors are outstanding and very friendly. We would wonder next door to talk, share wine, fish, and even boat on the water for the sunset! The island is exactly what we expected. During the day there are a lot of cars and "tourists," but mid-day they leave and the island becomes quiet and surreal. The beach was almost empty, so we had our own space to relax and lay out. We did not eat at any of the restaurants because we brought plenty of food to cook in the house. We brought all of our food from Whole Foods and D.C., because the only grocery store near the island is Food Lion and their selection is limited. We did purchase ice cream from a home-made creamery on the island, which was fantastic. Whether you have kids or are of any age, I can assure you this is the house you want. I've stayed in vacation homes before, all over the world, and can honestly say this house and island was superb. Hopefully it remains quaint and charming for the next 10 years!!!!

Jennifer from Washington D.C., May 2014

Our Family Trip

This was one of the best vacations we have had. The owners are such awesome people and cared for our every need. The home is amazing and fit our family so well. The views are simply incredible and the home is immaculate in every way. We thank you for your hospitality and look forward to staying at Moorings North again!

Shannon from Maryland, May 2014

Incredible Property!

Our extended family of four adults and four children (ages 3-9) has the distinct pleasure of renting this beautiful home in late March 2014. We have rented dozens of homes all over the world, and have never found a more loving and compassionate set of owners. Claudia was remarkable at working with us, ensuring our stay was outstanding, and equipping the home with any and all of the necessary details (including great bicycles!). The home is in an excellent location and is close to everything. The sunsets are beautiful, and we particularly enjoyed our walks and bike rides on Assateague Island. The home itself is remarkable, with its many and varied bedrooms and bathrooms! Exploring the home is half the fun! We found the home to be perfect for our group. The kids said “it’s not a home, it’s a MANSION!” They obviously loved it (including the elevator!). Our many thanks to Claudia for sharing this marvelous property!

Loreen and Tom from Nebraska, March 2014

Amazing & fantastic; hope to be back!

What a great vacation home! The owners are incredibly thoughtful, responsive, and kind. Our Moorings North weekend consisted of four families getting together to enjoy Chincoteague and a chance to relax with friends. We could not have found a better location. The home was clean and well taken care of, but saying just that undersells this place. Not only is the home spacious and beautiful with spectacular views, it is also comfortable with so many luxuries included.
I hope that it it will be available for the next time we head out to Chincoteauge!
A note for parents with wee ones: There are no child gates at the stairs (that is not a complaint!). As long as the parents are attentive, this place can work for families with young kids--it worked for us and all of the parents were still able to relax and enjoy being there with 4 kids ranging from 6 months to 3 years.

Pete from Washington D.C., April 2014

Families vacationing for a long weekend

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in this beautiful, comfortable, sparkling clean house. We wanted for nothing, the water views were spectacular, and location terrific. I cannot wait to go back and stay here again! Wonderful owners too. Highly highly recommend.

Ally from New York, April 2014

A Little Slice of Paradise

bigdrumOur experience at Moorings North was wonderful, from our first contact with our hosts to the easy checkout. The property is beautiful, looking across a narrow channel to marshland and Chincoteague Bay. We enjoyed the local wildfowl from the big bay window and the gazebo-in-the-sky—buffleheads, herons, shorebirds, even a bald eagle and a loon. Bring your binoculars! The house is beautifully appointed and the owners have thought of everything you’ll need—from the well-appointed kitchen to the pad of paper for your grocery list. You won’t find another property so well-appointed and well-situated in Chincoteague. It’s a short walk to town or down Maddox Blvd for ice cream and shopping. The property fit our three families, each with one 15-year-old boy, very comfortably. There was plenty for all of us to do—fishing, bird-watching, beachcombing, nature walks, skateboarding. But, you might just never want to leave the comfort of your beautiful home-away-from-home on Chincoteague Island! Thank you, Claudia and Claus for sharing your little slice of paradise.

Kathy from New York, April 2014

A complete pleasure

Staying at Moorings North was an excellent experience from start to finish. The owners were very kind, efficient and considerate when booking, which is not always the case for other vrbo's, and I've stayed at several. The house was incredible and the location ideal. We had 7 colleagues staying together as we attended WFF for meetings. The house served not only as a comfortable place to relax, but an excellent venue for our various meetings and discussions during the course of our stay. Additionally, when we finished work we enjoyed riding bikes, enjoying the view, and even a little stargazing through the telescope! I cannot imagine a more perfect place to stay during our trip. I've already decided to book here whenever possible. I'm even considering vacationing here with my family since the house/location is so wonderful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the chincoteague area if I can help it. Thank you very much for the perfect stay!!!

Randy from Iowa, March 2014

Absolute Perfection

We have been to Moorings North twice and will return again. The house is just perfect. Lots of space, great amenities, well stocked kitchen, privacy, beautiful view, clean and well maintained. We've rented several vacation homes over the years and this is our favorite place - by far. Claudia and Claus are great hosts!

Beth from Washington D.C., February 2014

Discovered The Island's Special Character Even In Winter Time

It was the first time for me on Chincoteague Island and now I can easily understand why people fall in love with this „little spot of earth“. The Moorings North was the perfect place for me to discover and enjoy the island‘s special character... even in winter time! I was lucky to see the island‘s charming sunlight glittering over the icy water and the snow covered landscape!
The freezing temperatures outside were perfectly contrasted by the warm, bright and welcoming atmosphere in this beautiful house! From the first moment on I felt kind of familiar with the house, although there is plenty to discover! I definitely liked the general character offering a gentle breeze of extravagance finding its perfect combination with convenience. The house offers places to come together but it also shelters you in intimate rooms and comforts you with places to take your retreat time with a book…. and never forget the view! Wherever I was - I discovered a new spectacular outlook!
The kitchen - one of my favorite places of that house! Fully equipped with everything you need to cook (and to serve!) a delicious dish, became the core place of my vacation time! There is so much pleasure in dining at the large wooden table with this stunning view!
Coming from Europe I specially liked the location of the house in walking distance to downtown historic Chincoteague with its little shops & stores, coffee places, grocery store, churches, movie theater and much more!
One day I walked down the street in the other direction to the nearby island‘s nature trail... and on the next day I took one of the brand-new bikes and went on a 15 minute ride to the sea shore! The ride takes longer if you stop at the creamery what might happen - not only to me...
I hope I‘ll have the chance to come back to Moorings North!

Bernadette from Bavaria, February 2014

Amazing Property with Amazing Hosts

We were the first to rent from Claus and Claudia after they bought the property, can't say enough good things about them, the property and the experience. From the Welcome Basket we found upon our arrival, to the crisp and friendly check-in during our stay, and the post-departure email thanking us for being there, this was a 5 star experience in every way. The house is warm and welcoming, impeccably and smartly furnished, with exceptional views and a quiet neighborhood that's walking distance to the center of town. You're literally steps from the water with a deepwater dock that doesn't ground your boat at high tide, and has access to some of the best fishing on the Atlantic coast. 15 minutes to the ocean as well as the bay, this property is one of the best locations on the island. You can easily sleep, feed and entertain 10 people in sumptuous comfort. Large eat in kitchen, HDTV, and a wonderful deck with pristine views that can easily accommodate everyone for dinner round out the amenities. Lots of parking, TV's in every room, three master bedroom suites with top of the line fixtures make this the premier property on the island. As for the owners, they made us feel like we were staying at friend's house. Claus and Claudia seem to know just what you need and when. We had such a great experience that we waited to write the review until we'd booked our stay for 2014. Highly recommended, we'll be back as often as time permits.

Tony from Virginia, January 2014